

DEDICATED FREIGHT CORRIDOR CORPORATION

New Delhi, 29.05.2019

PRESS RELEASE

FIRST TSS CHARGED ON DEDICATED FREIGHT CORRIDOR



Today, DFCCIL has achieved an important milestone in project completion. The first Traction Sub-Station (TSS) of 63 MVA (Mega Volt Ampere) was charged at Biruni near Tundla on the Khurja-Bhaupur section (343 km) of the Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor (EDFC) on 25.05.2019. 2 x 25 KV Over Head Equipment (OHE) from Biruni to Dariyapur of 66 km length was charged today. This is an important milestone as it will pave the way for the running of freight trains pulled by electric locomotives on DFCCIL.

A total of 45 TSS are planned along the entire length of the DFC, with the Western Dedicated Freight Corridor (from Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust in Mumbai to Dadri) accounting for 25 TSS and the EDFC (from Ludhiana to Sonnagar) for 20 TSS. The WDFC spans approx. 1504 route km and the EDFC (excluding the Sonnagar – Dankuni PPP portion) approx 1328 route km. The Over Head Equipment (OHE) in WDFC is of 7.4-meter height in contrast to the existing Indian Railways (IR) OHE of 5.5 meter for double stack container movement on flat wagons. DFC has a provision of 2 x 25 KV OHE to undertake higher haulage at greater speeds while IR has 25 KV OHE capacity.

DFCCIL is fast progressing to achieve its timelines. Entire DFCs will be completed by the year 2021.

WDFC:

- The first Double Stack Container Goods train was successfully run between Ateli Phulera section (190 km) on 15.08.2018.
- A trial run on WDFC's 306 km Madar (Ajmer) New Rewari Kishangarh Balawas section was completed on 30.12.2018.
- The Madar Palanpur section will be completed by 31.03.2020.
- Palanpur to JNPT (Mumbai) section will be completed by 2021.

EDFC:

- A freight train trial run was done on the Bhadan- Khurja section (194 km) on 30.11.2018.
- The Bhadan-Bhaupur section will be completed by 30.11.2019.
- Bhaupur- Mughalsarai section will be completed by 31.12.2020.
- The Mughalsarai- Sonnagar section will be completed on December 2020. For favour of Publication and relay please.

(Rajesh Chopra)